Mordel's Bar & Grill
Question on Comm equipment.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mordel's Bar & Grill Forum Index » General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Stinger
The Knights of Chaos
General
General


Joined: 2002-04-29 23:00
Posts: 1827
Location: United States
PostPosted: 2017-07-29 11:15    Post subject: Question on Comm equipment. Reply to topic Reply with quote

So, I was reading about the Communications equipment and noticed that it didn't say that it needed to be a single unit. so I guess that is my question if you add up to 8 tons of equipment but you add it in two different or say even four different units can you get a accumulated bonus from say four 2 ton units, two 4 ton units? or does it have to be a full single unit?

The more that I have been thinking about it I almost think that it is meant to be split up amongst several smaller units then linked together for a single unit benefit.
_________________
Stinger
If it's "creepy" to use the Internet, military satellites, and robot aircraft to find a house full of gorgeous young models so I can drop in on them unexpected, then FINE, I'm "creepy". Howard Wolowitz. BBT.
Back to top View profile Send site message Send e-mail
Mordel
Mordel.Net
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 2002-02-02 23:00
Posts: 5466
Location: United States
PostPosted: 2017-07-29 12:05    Post subject: Re: Question on Comm equipment. Reply to topic Reply with quote

Stinger wrote:
So, I was reading about the Communications equipment and noticed that it didn't say that it needed to be a single unit. so I guess that is my question if you add up to 8 tons of equipment but you add it in two different or say even four different units can you get a accumulated bonus from say four 2 ton units, two 4 ton units? or does it have to be a full single unit?

The more that I have been thinking about it I almost think that it is meant to be split up amongst several smaller units then linked together for a single unit benefit.


Are you referring to the initiative bonus from TO (pg. 194)? If so, it refers to the bonus being applicable when "any unit", "that unit", and "the unit". So I don't think they can be combined as a group. Any single unit within the group has to have communications equipment equal to the tonnage specified. On pg. 195 it also states "A side may only benefit from one Mobile HQ at a time". So, there you have it. Smile
_________________
Mordel Blacknight - Site Administrator
Back to top View profile Send site message Send e-mail Visit website Facebook Username Twitter Username Steam Custom URL
Stinger
The Knights of Chaos
General
General


Joined: 2002-04-29 23:00
Posts: 1827
Location: United States
PostPosted: 2017-07-29 12:41    Post subject: Question on Comm equipment. Reply to topic Reply with quote

Hmm. Ok, not what I was hoping for. I was mostly wondering because of some of that wording. Saying "3 to 6" was making ms wonder if the rules would allow for the separation of the gear for ease of installation. But i can see it only allowing for single unit. Which is a little disappointing.
_________________
Stinger
If it's "creepy" to use the Internet, military satellites, and robot aircraft to find a house full of gorgeous young models so I can drop in on them unexpected, then FINE, I'm "creepy". Howard Wolowitz. BBT.
Back to top View profile Send site message Send e-mail
Mordel
Mordel.Net
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 2002-02-02 23:00
Posts: 5466
Location: United States
PostPosted: 2017-07-29 13:12    Post subject: Re: Question on Comm equipment. Reply to topic Reply with quote

Stinger wrote:
Hmm. Ok, not what I was hoping for. I was mostly wondering because of some of that wording. Saying "3 to 6" was making ms wonder if the rules would allow for the separation of the gear for ease of installation. But i can see it only allowing for single unit. Which is a little disappointing.


Can always play it the way you like in your own games. Smile But yeah, the 3-6 range just means when a single unit mounts CE >= 3 tons but less then 7 tons, it gains the benefit.
_________________
Mordel Blacknight - Site Administrator
Back to top View profile Send site message Send e-mail Visit website Facebook Username Twitter Username Steam Custom URL
Stinger
The Knights of Chaos
General
General


Joined: 2002-04-29 23:00
Posts: 1827
Location: United States
PostPosted: 2017-07-29 13:23    Post subject: Question on Comm equipment. Reply to topic Reply with quote

Yeah. Just really screws up the mech I was designing. Laughing Oh well back to the drawing board.
_________________
Stinger
If it's "creepy" to use the Internet, military satellites, and robot aircraft to find a house full of gorgeous young models so I can drop in on them unexpected, then FINE, I'm "creepy". Howard Wolowitz. BBT.
Back to top View profile Send site message Send e-mail
Stinger
The Knights of Chaos
General
General


Joined: 2002-04-29 23:00
Posts: 1827
Location: United States
PostPosted: 2018-08-05 13:01    Post subject: Question on Comm equipment. Reply to topic Reply with quote

performs some reluctant thread necromancy

So I have not picked up TO yet. My question is, is it still necessary to mount ECM and Probes with the comm gear? Or are they unnecessary with a large enough comm unit?
_________________
Stinger
If it's "creepy" to use the Internet, military satellites, and robot aircraft to find a house full of gorgeous young models so I can drop in on them unexpected, then FINE, I'm "creepy". Howard Wolowitz. BBT.
Back to top View profile Send site message Send e-mail
Mordel
Mordel.Net
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 2002-02-02 23:00
Posts: 5466
Location: United States
PostPosted: 2018-08-05 16:18    Post subject: Re: Question on Comm equipment. Reply to topic Reply with quote

Stinger wrote:
performs some reluctant thread necromancy

So I have not picked up TO yet. My question is, is it still necessary to mount ECM and Probes with the comm gear? Or are they unnecessary with a large enough comm unit?


Page 101 of TO states:

Communications Equipment: Communications equipment (see p. 212, TechManual) can be used to generate an ECCM field with the same area of effect as an Inner Sphere Guardian ECM Suite. Any unit that mounts 3 to 6 tons of communications equipment equals half of an ECM suite when generating an ECCM field. If the unit mounts 7 or more tons of communications equipment, it equals 1 ECM suite when generating an
ECCM. Any time communications equipment is used to generate an ECCM field, all other bonus modifiers are lost.

Pg. 102 says:

Communications Equipment: Communications equipment (see p. 212, TechManual) can be used to generate ghost targets with the same area of effect as an Inner Sphere Guardian ECM suite. However, to do so, the unit must mount 7 or more tons of communications equipment. Any time communications equipment is used to generate an ECCM field, all other bonus modifiers are lost.

There are other tidbits scattered about the book, of course.
_________________
Mordel Blacknight - Site Administrator
Back to top View profile Send site message Send e-mail Visit website Facebook Username Twitter Username Steam Custom URL
Stinger
The Knights of Chaos
General
General


Joined: 2002-04-29 23:00
Posts: 1827
Location: United States
PostPosted: 2018-08-07 01:51    Post subject: Question on Comm equipment. Reply to topic Reply with quote

Very cool. Thank you Mordel Very Happy
_________________
Stinger
If it's "creepy" to use the Internet, military satellites, and robot aircraft to find a house full of gorgeous young models so I can drop in on them unexpected, then FINE, I'm "creepy". Howard Wolowitz. BBT.
Back to top View profile Send site message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mordel's Bar & Grill Forum Index » General Discussion All times are GMT-06:00

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum